RSS

Things behind…

09 Dec

20120219-131210.jpg

What I’ll miss…

I’ll miss the cool fall air.
I’ll miss the late nights. And the later mornings.
I’ll miss brunch with a sweet hand to hold.
I’ll miss the calm before the storm.
I’ll miss the feel of a cold oar.
I’ll miss the connect between an 8.
I’ll miss the bond between a pair.
I’ll miss the pillow of an open home.
I’ll miss the family. Old and new.
I’ll miss the familiar drive down a clustered highway.
I’ll miss you. Yes you.

I’ll remember…
I’ll remember the strength I gained in cold mornings.
I’ll remember the lessons from the mentors I have been blessed with.
I’ll remember how to smile.
I’ll remember why to smile.
I’ll remember how lucky I truly am.
I’ll remember the storm after the calm.
I’ll remember sunsets.
I’ll remember rainy days, and parking lot puddles.
I’ll remember how to pick up after it feels like it has all fallen apart.
I’ll remember how to hold on, even on top of a capsized launch.
I’ll remember to be there.
I’ll remember you. Yes you.

I want to say thank you to everyone who has been there for me through out this journey. It has been quite a trip so far. And if you are still around you probably aren’t going anywhere, any time soon. It’s a little scary some times.

I am scared of the finality of each decision I make. But I think it is silly not to be. We’re on a rock spinning 1000 miles per hour, in an orbit around a sun at 67,000 miles per hour, Ina a solar system traveling around a galaxy at 550,000 miles per hour; and there are 7 billion of us on this ride.

Monday I say goodbye to Ohio, and goodbye to a lot of you. Some of you, likely for the last time. But as is life. “…knowing how way leads on to way, I doubted if I should ever come back.”

I suppose that is all for now… Signing out.

nlvogs

The Road Not Taken
Robert Frost

TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth; 5

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same, 10

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back. 15

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. 20

20120219-131021.jpg

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
