RSS

ending at the beginning…

25 Jul

It’s funny how every now and then, life catches up to you. One day, you are a 12 year old boy scared to death of his first day at junior high, and the next you are a 27 year old man on the cusp of a life goal. These things seem so drastically different from an objective standpoint, but in the shoes of an individual, the theory of relativity has never felt so real.

As I have marched forward (figuratively and literally) in this journey I have found moments of emotion, so diverse in significance that my life feels like an active seismograph. I cannot always predict what is ahead, but I have come to the understanding that, that is okay.

But all of this is just murmur. I am diverging away from the real matter at hand. The matter of what I believe. The matter of the big picture. The question of faith and life, and it is time for me to define where I stand…

Love. Plain and simple. I believe in it. I think it is a direct line that connects finite life to an infinite existence. Some people correspond this to religion. Some people correspond this to science. I lie somewhere in the middle. I do not define myself as a christian, nor as any other faith based man. I am a secular being. I keep to what I can see, feel, touch, understand, and occasionally imagine, so long as it corresponds to logic.

There is more to this… but I am tired, and interested in what people think thus far… please leave comments. Thanks

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “ending at the beginning…

  1. Anonymous

    July 25, 2012 at 7:33 AM

    What is love to you? You must answer this before you can say “I believe in it.” Perhaps you have answered this for yourself, at least partially, but the reader needs to hear it. You especially need to answer it if you claim to be a ” secular man that sticks to logic” but also a man who grounds his existence in one of the most potentially illogical maxims out there… love.

    I look forward to your response.
    -Anonymous

     
    • nlvogs

      October 6, 2012 at 7:38 PM

      Dear reader…

      You raise a perfectly valid point, which deserves attention… Yet as I explained to another reader, my understanding of love is ever evolving, and while writing this post, I recognized the complexity of the topic and grew tired. I promise to give an answer, but all in good time. I will indeed follow up with you…

      Thanks for reading,

      happy trails

      nlvogs

       
  2. Anonymous

    September 10, 2012 at 10:16 PM

    I agree that you must explain what love is to you. Throughout your past writings you seem to have written a lot about the hard times relationships have. And there will always be those hard times even with love. But what about the good love, and the different types? There is puppy love, and love that blossoms from a friendship, and love that is spontaneous and unexpected and sometimes fleeting. It would be interesting to read the different takes you have and the loves you have experienced. Even if you have loved and lost there are always silver linings to reflect on. Just one opinion.

     
    • nlvogs

      October 6, 2012 at 7:35 PM

      Dear Reader,

      I certainly do need to explain what love is more directly… And this blog is my realm for doing so. It is an ever evolving understanding though. And hard to put a certain label on. It was this that made this post so difficult, and while writing it, I recognized the difficulty and fell tired because of it. However, I do write on many areas of love. It just so happens that many of my most passionate experiences with love are experienced during its demise, and thus are much more interesting, and exciting to read and write about. Perhaps take a look at:

      https://nlvogs.wordpress.com/2011/12/09/things-behind/

      or

      https://nlvogs.wordpress.com/2011/07/15/last-stand/

      Thanks for reading…

      happy trails…

      nlvogs

       

Leave a Reply

 
